2021-04-23, 10:08 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: vomiting (how can i stop the dizzyness)  (Read 4236 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
shambler
 
Icon of Sin
**********
Posts: 999

« on: 2004-04-24, 21:33 »

I have a problem.
I get travel sick. A lot. unless I drive, its almost all the time. boats and planes as well.

I now seem to get 'travel sick' in Q3 and Gen. I've turned the view-bob off in UT, and that seems to have helped a lot.

Anybody know if this can be done in Q3? As I type, after an hour of the euro server on saturday nite, I feel rough as a bag of gravel.

going to get a cold shower to see if it helps.
Logged
games keeper
 

Elite
*
Posts: 1375

« Reply #1 on: 2004-04-24, 22:00 »

I got the same thing with quake 1 .
Logged
shambler
 
Icon of Sin
**********
Posts: 999

« Reply #2 on: 2004-04-24, 22:22 »

I never had it in Q1. Only in Turok2, Q3 and SoF2 I think. How did you stop it?

I get it a lot. Turok2 is the worst mind.
Logged
Tabun
Pixel Procrastinator
 

Team Member
Elite (3k+)
******
Posts: 3328

WWW
« Reply #3 on: 2004-04-24, 22:40 »

Had it too, on occasion, for me it wasn't the view bobbing (although Q2's machinegun helps for that extra nausea effect), but low refreshrates/frames per sec.
At 100+ hz and likewise for fps, things are fine. Anywhere below that, and I get the same problem.

Quake 3 view bobbing is handled by several variables:


cg_bobup 0
cg_bobpitch 0
cg_bobroll 0

cg_runpitch 0
cg_runroll 0

cg_damagedraw 0
cg_damagekick 0


Solved the view bobbing mess for me. Whether you like it that way, or not, is up to you. Also note that some of the variables might be cheat protected, or even outdated..
Logged

Tabun ?Morituri Nolumus Mori?
shambler
 
Icon of Sin
**********
Posts: 999

« Reply #4 on: 2004-04-24, 23:44 »

Thanks

I assume these go into the config somehow. I'll have a go tomorrow.

By the way, About 6 weeks ago tried to up my refresh rate to 100 from 85, and the monitor blew up just after the Gen game finished! I took it back and got a refund after having it 11 months! This has made me nervous about upping it again. I suppose I could drop down to 800x600, and try it then. Or maybe just read the instruction book first.

any advice is welcome.
Logged
Tabun
Pixel Procrastinator
 

Team Member
Elite (3k+)
******
Posts: 3328

WWW
« Reply #5 on: 2004-04-25, 00:27 »

Yes, it is certainly advisable to see what your monitor's hardware limitations are. Going higher than the specs is not recommended.. :]
My trusty IIyama goes up to 120 for 800x600, but I prefer the smoothness of 640x480, personally. anything higher and I'm forced to 100 hz it.
Logged

Tabun ?Morituri Nolumus Mori?
ConfusedUs
 

Elite (2k+)
**
Posts: 2358

WWW
« Reply #6 on: 2004-04-25, 00:27 »

Quote from: shambler
Thanks

I assume these go into the config somehow. I'll have a go tomorrow.

By the way, About 6 weeks ago tried to up my refresh rate to 100 from 85, and the monitor blew up just after the Gen game finished! I took it back and got a refund after having it 11 months! This has made me nervous about upping it again. I suppose I could drop down to 800x600, and try it then. Or maybe just read the instruction book first.

any advice is welcome.
Make sure your monitor is actually capable of that refresh rate. Slipgate - Wink
Logged
shambler
 
Icon of Sin
**********
Posts: 999

« Reply #7 on: 2004-04-25, 12:40 »

My monitor is an Iiyama HM903DT A

The manual is not very clear about refresh rates (or maybe thats just me) I exspect it to be able to go to higher than 85.

Tab: is your mon set to 640x480 in the games then? Or just for everything, including games?

By the way, I have stopped the background moving on your advice, rollbob etc, but the gun still moves. Any ideas?


I've just noticed, the gun does not move when you jump.
« Last Edit: 2004-04-25, 12:42 by shambler » Logged
Tabun
Pixel Procrastinator
 

Team Member
Elite (3k+)
******
Posts: 3328

WWW
« Reply #8 on: 2004-04-25, 14:03 »

Only for games. My desktop needs to be a full 1600x1200 of Photoshopping, obviously ;]
I use RefreshLock to fix my refreshrates in games.


Hmm.. yes the gun may still be swaying a little.. other than removing the gun entirely, I see no other options..

cg_gun 0/1

Ofcourse not recommended, since you'll miss a lot of Generations goodness ;]
Perhaps setting your cg_fov higher (to.. say.. 110 or so) will help? this affects the size of the gun, but ofcourse adds warping, which may well increase your problems..

Then something that may be helpful:
For refresh rate issues
I also suggest posting about complex Quake3 stuff there, most of the tweak-freaks are reading those forums.
« Last Edit: 2004-04-25, 14:06 by Tabun » Logged

Tabun ?Morituri Nolumus Mori?
shambler
 
Icon of Sin
**********
Posts: 999

« Reply #9 on: 2004-04-25, 17:26 »

Thanks. I will try it later today

Well My refresh rate in Gen seems to cap at 90. There must be something stopping it clibing higher, but I can't sort out what.

Any ideas anybody?
« Last Edit: 2004-04-26, 18:10 by shambler » Logged
games keeper
 

Elite
*
Posts: 1375

« Reply #10 on: 2004-04-26, 19:19 »

cg_maxfps 100 or whatever  dunno exactly
Logged
shambler
 
Icon of Sin
**********
Posts: 999

« Reply #11 on: 2004-04-26, 19:45 »

Just had a look and can't find that.

But it will be something like that I guess.

I know its capped as its 90 wether its 640x480, or 1024x768.

Ut seems to cap at 85 for me now i look into it.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: