2024-04-16, 17:58 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: 99e Maplist Sumission Thread  (Read 13927 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
ConfusedUs
 

Elite (2k+)
**
Posts: 2358

WWW
« on: 2004-10-05, 20:29 »

As seen on the GenArena homepage, we're taking submissions for custom settings on a per-map basis!

Here's some examples

Example #1:
Code:
gen-q2dm1
{
fraglimit 20
timelimit 25
genflags 23
dmflags 64
bot_minplayers 3
}

This would set up gen-q2dm1 (The Edge Revisited) as Strogg-only, powerups drop, and the obvious frag/time limits and up to 3 bots.

Example #2:
Code:
Genstart2
{
fraglimit 20
timelimit 20
genflags 31
dmflags 64
bot_minplayers 6
}

Same setup as before, with random-only (what better for Eternal Arenas, eh?) and 6 minimum players.

Example #3:
Code:
q3mckinley
{
capturelimit 5
timelimit 30
genflags 64
dmflags 10304
bot_minplayers 4
g_hookthrow 650
g_hookpull 650
g_redteam slipgate
g_blueteam strogg
}

This one is more complicated. Time and caplimits are obvious. Genflags 64 enables class-based teams. Those teams are defined as slipgate and strogg by g_redteam/g_blueteam. There's a minimum of 4 players. DMflags enable grapple, among other things. The grapple flies and pulls at 650 units/second. (Q2CTF settings)

Note the syntax as well. Mapname first, then open bracket, then the variables, then the close bracket. Each item on its own line. This is important. Slipgate - Wink

So there you go. This is your chance as the GenArena community to actively play a role in Gen's development.
Logged
Tabun
Pixel Procrastinator
 

Team Member
Elite (3k+)
******
Posts: 3330

WWW
« Reply #1 on: 2004-10-05, 20:59 »

Code:
req2dm3v2
{
fraglimit 0
timelimit 0
dmflags 2
}

 Thumbs up!  ;]
Logged

Tabun ?Morituri Nolumus Mori?
ConfusedUs
 

Elite (2k+)
**
Posts: 2358

WWW
« Reply #2 on: 2004-10-05, 21:00 »

aww tab, can't you at least be serious? Slipgate - Smile
Logged
Tabun
Pixel Procrastinator
 

Team Member
Elite (3k+)
******
Posts: 3330

WWW
« Reply #3 on: 2004-10-05, 21:01 »

Sorry Con - I just.. had.. to Slipgate - Wink
Logged

Tabun ?Morituri Nolumus Mori?
games keeper
 

Elite
*
Posts: 1375

« Reply #4 on: 2004-10-05, 21:13 »

can we put the gametype in between the lines to ??

other question .

for the g_redteam , g_blueteam .
will gen ever future other symbols for all genclasses , I dont like the old school  ctf flag symbols so that we can change the teams and flags  like in team arena .
Logged
scalliano
 

Elite
*
Posts: 1095

Yup, that's me

« Reply #5 on: 2004-10-05, 21:19 »

gm3tourney2
{
timelimit 20
fraglimit 0
dmflags 0
genflags 27
bot_minplayers 4
}
Logged

PSN ID: scalliano

The Arena knows no gender, colour or creed, only skill.
Phoenix
Bird of Fire
 

Team Member
Elite (7.5k+)
*********
Posts: 8805

WWW
« Reply #6 on: 2004-10-05, 22:25 »

A few things to keep in mind...

1)  DO NOT include gametype changes in the rotations.  There are separate rotation files for each gametype.  Calling a gametype change from within a map rotation will cause the server to switch to the other rotation file when the gametype changes.  This means anything past that point in the first rotation file will be ignored, so don't do that.

2)  bot_minplayers is DOUBLED for team games.  if you set bot_minplayers 3 you get  6 bots in TeamDM or CTF until real non-bot clients join.

3)  If you want to control how many maximum players are in a team game you can use g_maxgameclients to limit the number of people actually playing, and g_teamforcebalance 1 to ensure teams don't stack too heavy to one side or another.

4)  Remember, any cvars set on a map will remain persistant until reset on another map.  If we set dmflags or genflags, fraglimit, etc, on one map we'll need to set them on every other map within a specific gametype.  Important to remember especially for random map rotations.

5)  If you do a callvote on any settings that are scripted you MUST callvote either a new map or a map_restart afterwards for them to take effect.  If the map exits normally any settings that have been voted on will be overwritten by the script for the next map in the que.

6)  Suggestions are just that.  We reserve the right to edit for mistakes and/or bad judgement. Slipgate - Smile~

Those are all the cautionary notes I can think of for now.
:rules:
« Last Edit: 2004-10-05, 22:26 by Phoenix » Logged


I fly into the night, on wings of fire burning bright...
ConfusedUs
 

Elite (2k+)
**
Posts: 2358

WWW
« Reply #7 on: 2004-10-05, 22:33 »

Thanks for the further explanation Slipgate - Wink
Logged
Tekhead
 
Elite
*
Posts: 1110

« Reply #8 on: 2004-10-05, 23:10 »

This looks like work...damnit...
Logged
Assamite
 
Hans Grosse
*******
Posts: 271

« Reply #9 on: 2004-10-06, 05:54 »

Can bot_minplayers work with random-only? Doom - Huh? Edit: Apparently, it does. But it doesn't force random class for bots. Hmm.

Also, what makes Deadmeat a Doom map? Doesn't seem to fit the generation...

Also, can you make repeat entries? Say that I want Doom-only DM AND all-classes GenDM on Dead Simple.
« Last Edit: 2004-10-06, 07:19 by Assamite » Logged
Phoenix
Bird of Fire
 

Team Member
Elite (7.5k+)
*********
Posts: 8805

WWW
« Reply #10 on: 2004-10-06, 07:19 »

Bloody water all over?  Didn't you play DOOM?!?
Logged


I fly into the night, on wings of fire burning bright...
Assamite
 
Hans Grosse
*******
Posts: 271

« Reply #11 on: 2004-10-06, 07:23 »

Didn't get past Episode 1. The environment doesn't resemble Doom in the least, anyway, and it resembles Q1 in terms of environment and gameplay anyway. Traps and remote triggers, anyone?
Logged
Phoenix
Bird of Fire
 

Team Member
Elite (7.5k+)
*********
Posts: 8805

WWW
« Reply #12 on: 2004-10-06, 08:38 »

Quote from: Assamite
Didn't get past Episode 1.
Shame on you!  All you've seen is the Phobos base.  Believe me, Doom's environments change radically in Episode 2 and 3, and Doom II even more so.
Logged


I fly into the night, on wings of fire burning bright...
scalliano
 

Elite
*
Posts: 1095

Yup, that's me

« Reply #13 on: 2004-10-06, 19:58 »

Deadmeat looks nothing like Q1. Besides, judgements like that cannot be passed based solely on the shareware episode. Or did you buy the game and are just crap at it? Slipgate - Laugh
Logged

PSN ID: scalliano

The Arena knows no gender, colour or creed, only skill.
Tekhead
 
Elite
*
Posts: 1110

« Reply #14 on: 2004-10-06, 20:41 »

Quote from: scalliano
Deadmeat looks nothing like Q1. Besides, judgements like that cannot be passed based solely on the shareware episode. Or did you buy the game and are just crap at it? Slipgate - Laugh
Of course Deadmeat looks nothing like Q1 - it looks  Doomed
Logged
Assamite
 
Hans Grosse
*******
Posts: 271

« Reply #15 on: 2004-10-07, 02:59 »

I never recalled any squash-traps in Doom. Nor did I recall any two-tier maps.

Will someone answer my other question?
Logged
Phoenix
Bird of Fire
 

Team Member
Elite (7.5k+)
*********
Posts: 8805

WWW
« Reply #16 on: 2004-10-07, 03:33 »

Doom had crushing ceilings on E2M2, E2M4, to name two prominant maps.  As for two-tiered maps, remember Doom had some fairly severe engine restrictions.  Sectors could not exist one on top of another.  Elevation changes could only be accomplished by stairs and/or elevating platforms.  Doom II had several maps where you had upper and lower areas that played fairly independantly but overlooked each other.  You had to access the upper area by an elevating platform, stair, or specially placed teleporter, and you could always hop back down to the lower area.  In this respect there were two-tiered areas in Doom.
Logged


I fly into the night, on wings of fire burning bright...
ConfusedUs
 

Elite (2k+)
**
Posts: 2358

WWW
« Reply #17 on: 2004-10-07, 05:20 »

To get things back on track, here's another more:

Code:
q1dm4v2
{
timelimit 15
fraglimit 50
dmflags 33216
genflags 27
}

The Bad Place, time/fraglimit is obvious, DMflags (powerups drop, no footsteps, spawn farthest, force respawn), GENflags (Slipgate Only)

Should make for a fast and completely hectic match

From here on out, PLEASE only post your submissions or discuss others' submissions here. Let's not get sidetracked.
« Last Edit: 2004-10-07, 05:21 by ConfusedUs » Logged
Assamite
 
Hans Grosse
*******
Posts: 271

« Reply #18 on: 2004-10-07, 06:38 »

I SAID, can we have multiple entries for a single map on the same list?
Logged
ConfusedUs
 

Elite (2k+)
**
Posts: 2358

WWW
« Reply #19 on: 2004-10-07, 14:22 »

I'd rather not
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to: