2018-09-19, 14:53 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Snapshot  (Read 1313 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Kingu
 

Archvile
*****
Posts: 143

« on: 2006-07-29, 23:23 »

I get stuck at awaiting snapshot some times (like today), can someone tell me why is that happening, what to do with it?
Logged
Phoenix
Bird of Fire
 

Team Member
Elite (7.5k+)
*********
Posts: 8403

WWW
« Reply #1 on: 2006-07-30, 04:29 »

You using compressed textures?  If not, try enabling.  That fixes it for me.  Otherwise, check your net vars and try lowering some.  Backup your q3config.cfg, then try these as a test for connection:

Compressed textures ON
com_maxfps 90
rate 5000
snaps 20
cl_packetdup 1

If that doesn't make it go away, we'll keep trying.  If it does, experiment with each setting one at a time to see which one might be causing it.
Logged


I fly into the night, on wings of fire burning bright...
Kingu
 

Archvile
*****
Posts: 143

« Reply #2 on: 2006-07-31, 10:32 »

I was using compressed textures, and settings exept rate and fps settings i have same as you sugested. But to test it i'll have to wait for more crowded server, or is some other way ?
Logged
Phoenix
Bird of Fire
 

Team Member
Elite (7.5k+)
*********
Posts: 8403

WWW
« Reply #3 on: 2006-08-01, 02:30 »

Well, I would try it on empty servers first.  You might try loading normal Q3 and finding a busy Q3 server and play with settings there.  If it's a general network issue or settings issue on your end it should do the same thing in both Q3 and Gen.  If it's a net issue between you and Euro, check the packet loss column in All-Seeing Eye, and try pinging the server several times in a minute.  If the ping values vary widely, or the packet loss column is higher than just a few or 0 percent, or also varies widely, then there's something bad between you and the server causing a bottleneck.
Logged


I fly into the night, on wings of fire burning bright...
Kingu
 

Archvile
*****
Posts: 143

« Reply #4 on: 2006-08-01, 13:05 »

Looks like it has more to do with haveing not enough ram for gen and something "heavy"at same time, while haveing semidecent quality. I could join normaly at today game, when it was two of us, but had problem when other two joined, until i closed some progs.
 Anyway, thanks for help.  Thumbs up!
« Last Edit: 2006-08-01, 13:07 by Kingu » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: