2021-04-18, 03:37 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Doom Items - II (The Sequel, with a vengeance)  (Read 15399 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Byskwik
 
Guest
« Reply #20 on: 2003-02-03, 05:24 »

Awww, and I had such high hopes for the two of us dev. Slipgate - Wink
Logged
dev/null
 
Banned
Vadrigar
**********
Posts: 607

« Reply #21 on: 2003-02-03, 05:31 »

I'm sorry, there's just to much at stake. I mean, I just don't wear tuxes Slipgate - Tongue
Logged
dna
 
Shub-Niggurath
**********
Posts: 673

WWW
« Reply #22 on: 2003-02-03, 05:36 »

Quote from: Byskwik
Awww, and I had such high hopes for the two of us dev. Slipgate - Wink
Back off woman; I thought I made it perfectly clear at the last forum that dev/null was mine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 :angry:  :angry:  :angry:
Logged
dev/null
 
Banned
Vadrigar
**********
Posts: 607

« Reply #23 on: 2003-02-03, 05:46 »

Well I am single again if you want to make a move... Bubba Slipgate - Laugh
Logged
Arno
 

Cacodemon
****
Posts: 72

WWW
« Reply #24 on: 2003-02-03, 11:15 »

Woohooo!!! Nice models, Tab! Good job!
Is it possible to animate the bars/meters on that cells box? Or is that too cheesy?  Slipgate - Tongue
Logged
Tabun
Pixel Procrastinator
 

Team Member
Elite (3k+)
******
Posts: 3328

WWW
« Reply #25 on: 2003-02-03, 15:45 »

Funny how none of my bloody threads stay on topic, but are always messed aboot  by people (re)introducing themselves, asking unrelated questions or suddenly doing a striptease in the middle of a post - I must say it I find it most disturbing! *cough*

Now, where was I... Ah.
Arno: IMO, animating them to move up / down would look too cheesy - but I planned to make a shader to make them glow or noise them a bit. I'm in favor of using shaders, but not overusing them ;] - which reminds me:

Angst: could you take off the chrome thing shader for the health kit, if you haven't already? :]

Oh, and about the small cellpack - I expect a shader effect such as  on the strogg blaster would look nice on its green lighties.
« Last Edit: 2003-02-03, 18:32 by Tabun » Logged

Tabun ?Morituri Nolumus Mori?
dna
 
Shub-Niggurath
**********
Posts: 673

WWW
« Reply #26 on: 2003-02-03, 16:50 »

Actually, I kinda like the idea of lights on the cell boxes.  Maybe not zowie bars moving up and down to the beat of the music, but maybe a tiny blinking light, or even a steady on light.  Just to make it look like it's got juice in it.  

But that's just me.

/me pulls my thong aside.
Logged
games keeper
 

Elite
*
Posts: 1375

« Reply #27 on: 2003-02-03, 21:26 »

dev werent you with dawoman mclife ????
Logged
Vadertime
 

CyberDemon
******
Posts: 192

« Reply #28 on: 2003-02-03, 22:05 »

It's all doom stuff. Anybody working on other stuff?
Logged
games keeper
 

Elite
*
Posts: 1375

« Reply #29 on: 2003-02-03, 23:04 »

When doom is done (considering there are only about 2 more models, and 3-5 more skins to do - this will be quite soon)
hmm wrong calculation tab.
small cellpack
shotgunshellpack
clips model
red armor=> blue vest
yelow  armor=>green vest
megahealth=>soul sphere
invisibility=>red eyething from doom that made you invisible
unvulnarability=>dooms invulnarabilty
regeneration=>to megahealth (just a thought)
haste to =>something else.


looks like little bit more items TAB Slipgate - Smile
Logged
Parapsyche
 
Spectre
**
Posts: 38

« Reply #30 on: 2003-02-03, 23:37 »

Do you suppose there could be a way to include Doom's Light amp visor?  Maybe a replacement for haste or something, since he is already pretty damn fast.

Just a thought...plus, I liked the light amp...extremely useful.
Logged
Tabun
Pixel Procrastinator
 

Team Member
Elite (3k+)
******
Posts: 3328

WWW
« Reply #31 on: 2003-02-04, 00:07 »

i dunno.. basically, turning on vertex lighting gives you the light amplification effect.
and seeing as how 60% of the players out there already play like that (don't ask me why Slipgate - Tongue) - it wouldn't be of much use. We'll disclose more about doom's powerups (& the actual items) later.

Btw, Games, I didn't miscalculate.
I didn't count powerups, seeing as how I plan to make the items first, and powerups later, the former being more important & common. Also, I already mentioned I'd only reskin the armors, which makes the 3-5 count dead on. This implies that Powerups will be made AFTER all items (for all classes) have been sorted out. (also, note that the model-count has dropped to 0 for doom, since I've made the shells box & bullet clip, since i posted that message)
« Last Edit: 2003-02-04, 00:14 by Tabun » Logged

Tabun ?Morituri Nolumus Mori?
Phoenix
Bird of Fire
 

Team Member
Elite (7.5k+)
*********
Posts: 8568

WWW
« Reply #32 on: 2003-02-04, 05:52 »

Stealer, anytime, anywhere.  I have a GF4 too, but I warn you, since last we played I've gained a cable connection.  I'm not an HPB anymore.  I may not go down as easily as you think.  Just ask a few of my victims.  :ph34r:

Games, I don't know if the lightamp visor is really possible.  The way it worked in Doom was basically to render all textures at exact RGB texture value.  Lightmaps, while they may "appear" to ADD light to a map really function in reverse - that is, they enable textures to be rendered with LESS RGB value than the texture normally has.  There is to my knowledge so far no clean and easy way to force the renderer to bypass the lightmap and render the entire scene at fullbright on the fly.  This would require modifying the Quake3.exe file, and I don't think Wirehead has $500,000 or so to spare to buy rights to the Q3 engine just to do that.  I can dump an additive light any size anywhere I want on a level, but it's not the same thing, and just dumping a huge white light, while it will lighten the surfaces tends to wash them out and looks like crap compared to the effect in Doom.  Slipgate - Sad  
Logged


I fly into the night, on wings of fire burning bright...
Lunatic Guy
 
Guest
« Reply #33 on: 2003-02-04, 06:29 »

Plasma Cells!! A job well done, Tab! Slipgate - Smile
Logged
Arno
 

Cacodemon
****
Posts: 72

WWW
« Reply #34 on: 2003-02-04, 11:42 »

Tab, speaking of shaders, I took the liberty of adding shaders to some of your textures. Specifically, three of the Wolf door textures I'm using in my map. The shaders are pretty basic:
Code:
textures/tabgen_doors/door01
{
surfaceparm metalsteps
{
  map $lightmap
  rgbGen identity
}
{
  map textures/tabgen_doors/door01.jpg
  blendFunc GL_DST_COLOR GL_ZERO
  rgbGen identity
}
}

textures/tabgen_doors/door01_frame
{
surfaceparm metalsteps
{
  map $lightmap
  rgbGen identity
}
{
  map textures/tabgen_doors/door01_frame.jpg
  blendFunc GL_DST_COLOR GL_ZERO
  rgbGen identity
}
}

textures/tabgen_doors/door01_side
{
surfaceparm metalsteps
{
  map $lightmap
  rgbGen identity
}
{
  map textures/tabgen_doors/door01_side.jpg
  blendFunc GL_DST_COLOR GL_ZERO
  rgbGen identity
}
}
It simply gives some metal properties to these textures. Footsteps and bullet impacts sound more metal like now. Maybe you can add this code to your .shader file, along with some code for similar metal textures.
Logged
Tabun
Pixel Procrastinator
 

Team Member
Elite (3k+)
******
Posts: 3328

WWW
« Reply #35 on: 2003-02-04, 14:13 »

Ah, thanks Arno - 'tis that kind of detail that I forget too easily :]

« Last Edit: 2003-02-04, 14:13 by Tabun » Logged

Tabun ?Morituri Nolumus Mori?
games keeper
 

Elite
*
Posts: 1375

« Reply #36 on: 2003-02-04, 23:00 »

Quote
Games, I don't know if the lightamp visor is really possible.

 Doom - Huh?   :blink:  what the hell are you talking about    :unsure:  Doom - Huh?
Logged
Tabun
Pixel Procrastinator
 

Team Member
Elite (3k+)
******
Posts: 3328

WWW
« Reply #37 on: 2003-02-05, 01:42 »

If you read up a bit, you'd known that he actually meant:

Quote
Parapsyche, I don't know if the lightamp visor is really possible.

:]
Logged

Tabun ?Morituri Nolumus Mori?
games keeper
 

Elite
*
Posts: 1375

« Reply #38 on: 2003-02-05, 13:44 »

oh that lightamp.
no just leave it out not 1 map is dark enough to use it.
maybe we can change the speed rune into an adrenaline tube.

oh by the way pho about those bots .
I think you changed something in the arena botfiles.
when I load up q3 and ad the predator bot it will only use the gauntlet or the railgun (nothing else its programmed that way by the maker )
but when I load him into gen he will not use the gauntlet but he will use the rocketlauncher .

also bots who like the BFG in quake 3 dont like the q3 arena bfg in generations arena . instead they switch to the gauntlet.
(just something I noticed in the gladiatorclass.
Logged
Vadertime
 

CyberDemon
******
Posts: 192

« Reply #39 on: 2003-02-05, 21:56 »

What about the soulsphere, megasphere, and Blur sphere? Can you put those in?
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to: