2021-05-18, 12:54 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Spontaneous reboots (they aren't fun)  (Read 4123 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Footman
 

Beta Tester
Icon of Sin
***********
Posts: 784

WWW
« on: 2004-06-15, 23:42 »

I'm getting them. This happens whenever I run a fullscreen game. While I'm playing, the screen goes black, and the computer starts to boot up again, as if I hit the reset button. When It boots back up, I get the following error report thingy(different screens of the windows that come up), can anyone help?
« Last Edit: 2004-06-15, 23:43 by Footman » Logged
ReBoOt
Mean ol Swede
 
Team Member
Elite
****
Posts: 1293

WWW
« Reply #1 on: 2004-06-16, 01:17 »

checked your log files?
Logged
Footman
 

Beta Tester
Icon of Sin
***********
Posts: 784

WWW
« Reply #2 on: 2004-06-16, 01:28 »

Umm, where? What? Slipgate - Confused
Logged
Phoenix
Bird of Fire
 

Team Member
Elite (7.5k+)
*********
Posts: 8576

WWW
« Reply #3 on: 2004-06-16, 04:21 »

Sounds like a video driver bug.
Logged


I fly into the night, on wings of fire burning bright...
Footman
 

Beta Tester
Icon of Sin
***********
Posts: 784

WWW
« Reply #4 on: 2004-06-16, 05:02 »

Anyone know what I can do about it?
Logged
games keeper
 

Elite
*
Posts: 1375

« Reply #5 on: 2004-06-16, 13:20 »

reinstalling drivers worked for me .
Logged
Footman
 

Beta Tester
Icon of Sin
***********
Posts: 784

WWW
« Reply #6 on: 2004-06-16, 16:46 »

Tried it. Didn't work.
Logged
Footman
 

Beta Tester
Icon of Sin
***********
Posts: 784

WWW
« Reply #7 on: 2004-06-25, 17:29 »

They're not stopping. Help! Slipgate - Sad
Logged
Tekhead
 
Elite
*
Posts: 1109

« Reply #8 on: 2004-06-25, 19:40 »

Reformat time =-]

If that doesn't work, some of your hardware is hosed.
« Last Edit: 2004-06-25, 19:41 by Tekhead » Logged
Footman
 

Beta Tester
Icon of Sin
***********
Posts: 784

WWW
« Reply #9 on: 2004-06-26, 04:03 »

I did some research on this.

Apparently, it only happens when I'm running certain applications, the following that cause it are:
Diablo
Hellfire
Diablo II
RollerCoaster Tycoon
Warcraft III
Monster Truck Madness 2


Nothing else seems to cause it. Only happens when I'm running one of those.
« Last Edit: 2004-06-26, 05:13 by Footman » Logged
Dicion
 

Team Member
Makron
*********
Posts: 353

WWW
« Reply #10 on: 2004-06-26, 09:49 »

what brand of video card do you have???

And if you're using branded drivers, try reference drivers...

Also, post screenshots of the technical data of the crashes... ya know, the two 'click here's at the bottom of that first screenshot.
Logged
Footman
 

Beta Tester
Icon of Sin
***********
Posts: 784

WWW
« Reply #11 on: 2004-06-26, 23:14 »

GeForce 4MX 440.

At the moment, I cleaned out the computer, dusty as HELL. See if that helps.

As for crashes, the computer's restarting itself, not crashing with errors.
Logged
Genialus
 

Shambler
*****
Posts: 119

« Reply #12 on: 2004-06-30, 23:04 »

If not, it might be your ram there's something wrong with.
Here's a link to a mem test, so you can see if it's the RAM
http://hcidesign.com/memtest/download.html
1 error and more is telling you to get new RAM
Logged
scalliano
 

Elite
*
Posts: 1093

Yup, that's me

« Reply #13 on: 2004-07-14, 23:25 »

Yeah, I get this when I use my TV-out. I just move the window into a corner and forget it ever existed. Everything else works fine.

I use a GF2, btw.
Logged

PSN ID: scalliano

The Arena knows no gender, colour or creed, only skill.
OmEgA-X
 

Beta Tester
Hans Grosse
********
Posts: 281

« Reply #14 on: 2004-07-15, 16:46 »

i get the same error..i even reformatted.. Slipgate - Distraught
Logged
Phoenix
Bird of Fire
 

Team Member
Elite (7.5k+)
*********
Posts: 8576

WWW
« Reply #15 on: 2004-07-16, 01:55 »

I'm not familiar with this specific error, and the codes are rather unhelpful.  Can you get a screenshot of what's on the technical details link?  I'll nose around the web a bit to see if anyone else has run into it from the provided data.  In the mean time, here's some tips that might help out.

Do you know if all these games are Direct-X or OpenGL?  If they're all Direct-X games I would suspect a buggy Direct-X api causing the problem.  Run Windows Update and see if Direct-X is the most recent version.  If not, update.

Try different video driver versions.  Sometimes a newer driver can actually be buggier than an older one.  See if you can stabilize it by rolling back or forward a few releases.

Try using an enhanced driver removal utility like Detonator Destroyer or Detonator RIP before installing a new driver.  Nvidia is notorious for leaving leftover crap after an uninstall.

Do the CTRL-ALT-DELETE routine and shut down any non-essential programs, especially antivirus applications.  See if it still does it.  If that fixes the problem then try rebooting and shutting down each non-essential module one at a time to see if you can isolate the culprit responsible.

See if a new driver for your mainboard is available.  Sometimes a chipset driver can cause instability.  A BIOS flash can help too.

Check for resource-sapping spyware.  I recommend Spyboy S&D.

If all else fails, a reformat might solve the problem.  If that doesn't help, then the only thing left is hardware.  After software is eliminated, spontaneous reboots are usually a sign of an unstable power supply.  That can cause games to crash the system as well since the system, especially the video, draws more power when running games and games tax the system more than just about anything else.  You might want to check to see if the power supply is actually kicking air out the back, or if the fan isn't doing much.  If the fan is groaning or not pushing a decent amount of warm air then it's a good bet your power supply is on its way out.

If your system has a utility that can display voltage levels you might check that out as it is a good indicator of your power supply's health.  System voltages should have as little ripple as possible, especially when under load, and should be within ~2% of the indicated voltage.  If you don't have such a utility you should be able to get some information out of the system BIOS, or maybe find a free utility on the net.
« Last Edit: 2004-07-16, 02:00 by Phoenix » Logged


I fly into the night, on wings of fire burning bright...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: