2024-04-19, 05:51 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Team Fortress 2 Beta (and comments on such)  (Read 4852 times)
Rubilacxe

Shambler

« on: 2007-10-02, 14:47 »

Has anyone had the chance to jump into the Team Fortress 2 Beta (available by pre-ordering The Orange Box through Steam)?

At first, the lack of grenades had me discouraged, but because they aren't there, the game seems to work a lot more smoothly.  Team work has really been emphasized, and every class is fun to play as and balanced in terms of weaponry and abilities.  I'm an Engineer fan, and am quite pleased with the way they went about designing him (much easier to build things).  And of course, the graphics are mesmerizing and really add to the atmosphere.  Basically, I see The Incredibles if it were rated R insted of PG.  Very fun to run around in. 

Each class has his own personality (as seen in the Meet the [Class] videos), and can shout out a variety of phrases (usually things like "go left!" or "sentry ahead!", plus the classic "Medic!")  Every class has their own take on belting out these phrases.  The Scout speaks like a young New York baseball fan/player, while the Engineer has a rough, Texas accent (my kinda dude).  The Medic is German, the Demoman scottish, the Heavy Austrian, etc.  Very funny when these quirky personalities are running around with each other.